Activision announces Guitar Hero: Aerosmith

aeromisthI was already starting to feel a little ill this morning, and this news just pushed me over the edge and caused me to throw up in my mouth a little. In a move that completely justifies all fears Guitar Hero fans had when Activision bought the franchise, today Activision has announced another edition of the guitar playing series: Guitar Hero: Aerosmith. 

Set for release this June, the game will follow the career of "America’s greatest rock band" from their beginnings to their "Why are they still together?" stage. Playing as one of three band members — Perry (guitar), Whitford (guitar), and Hamilton (bass) — you’ll be able to provide musical back-up for Steven Tyler.

Said Joe Perry, "On a larger scale, it’s cool for us to be pioneers helping to rebuild the music industry through a format like video games. It’s great for rock since the record companies are struggling to make sense of how things are changing. Fans want to get and experience music in new formats–and there are going to be some of them who will play the game, then pick up the guitar for real and start bands. It’s what’s happening now, and it’s only going to build more momentum in the future. It’s a massive change for the music business."

Not to be outquoted, Steven Tyler chipped in with why Aerosmith was selected to be the first band to receive such treatment. "Any band that can go from ‘Don’t Want to Miss A Thing’ (Aerosmith’s #1 smash hit) to the ass-kicking ‘Sweet Emotion’ to the cheekiness of ‘Love in an Elevator,’ to the classic ballad ‘Dream On’ shows why Activision chose us to headline this game based on the diversity of the Aerosmith catalog. Not only is songwriting a bitch, but then it goes and has puppies."

In addition to playing alongside Aerosmith, you’ll be able to play (from time to time) with guest bands who have performed with them on stage and on tour. No word yet on who those bands may be.

To celebrate the news (or make up for it) owners of Guitar Hero 3 on the PS3 and 360 will be able to download the track "Dream On" for free between February 16-18.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati
Author: Brendon Lindsey View all posts by

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.