Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn preorder details announced

Final Fantasy XIV was released in September 2010, and didn’t receive favourable reviews by critics and players alike. On August 27, almost three years later, Final Fantasy XIV will rise again in a realm reborn, and Square Enix is celebrating with a collector’s edition that looks much better than the original.

Available now for preorder on PC and PS3, Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn features a new game engine, revamped mechanics and a variety of tweaks designed to get rid of the bad memories left behind from everyone that played the original disaster. The base game will be available for $US39.99 on the PlayStation 3 and PC, while the limited collector’s edition will run at $US79.99 and $US69.99 respectively, though the PC collector’s edition will be exclusive to Square Enix’s online store.

The collector’s edition will include:

  • Collector’s box designed by Yoshitaka Amano, legendary FINAL FANTASY artist
  • 80-page “Art of Eorzea” hardcover art book featuring never-before-seen concept art
  • “The Waning of the Sixth Sun,” a special bonus video disc that takes a cinematic look at the events that led up to the realm being reborn
  • “Sounds of Eorzea” album that features musical scores by renowned FINAL FANTASY series composers
  • Five collectable character art cards
  • A Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn-branded security token to secure user accounts
  • In-game bonus items: Helm of Light, Baby Behemoth Minion, Coeurl Mount and Behemoth Barding

So there’s plenty of extra goodies to look forward to, the question is: will the game be any good?

[Final Fantasy XIV Official Site]


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati
Author: Jordyn Clough View all posts by

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.